October 26

Individuals Participating in the ARDS Network


The individuals participating in the ARDS Network are listed below:

Steering Committee Chair:     Gordon Bernard, M.D., Vanderbilt University

Clinical Coordinating Center:     Massachusetts General Hospital:

David Schoenfeld, Ph.D.
B. Taylor Thompson, M.D.
Nancy Ringwood, R.N., CCRA
Cathryn Oldmixon, R.N.

NHLBI Project Office:

  • Andrea Harabin, Ph.D.
  • Myron Waclawiw, Ph.D.
  • Pamela Lew

Clinical Centers and Network Investigators:

  •  University of Michigan Medical Center
    Galen B. Toews, M.D. – Principal Investigator
    Robert H. Bartlett, M.D.

    • Leonard D. Hudson, M.D. – Principal Investigator
    • Kenneth P. Steinberg, M.D.
    • Ronald V. Maier, M.D.
    • Harborview Medical Center
  •  University of Maryland at Baltimore


  •  Henry J. Silverman, M.D. – Principal Investigator
    • Roy G. Brower, M.D., Johns Hopkins University
    • Carl Shanholtz, M.D.


  • Cleveland Clinic Foundation
    • Herbert P. Wiedemann, M.D. – Principal Investigator
    • Alejandro Arroliga, MD
  •  University of Colorado Health Sciences Center
    Edward Abraham, M.D. – Principal Investigator
    • Robert McIntyre, M.D.
    • Carolyn Welsh, M.D., Denver VA Hospital
    • Thomas Bost, M.D.- St. Anthony Central Hospital


  •  Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
    • Arthur P. Wheeler, M.D. – Principal Investigator
    • Gordon R. Bernard, M.D.
  • Duke University Medical Center
    • Neil MacIntyre, M.D. – Principal Investigator
    • Joseph Govert, M.D.
  •  Vanderbilt University Medical Center
    • Paul N. Lanken, M.D. – Principal Investigator
    • Jason Christie, M.D
    • Jonathan Gottlieb, M.D., Thomas Jefferson Hospital
    • Pauline K. Park, M.D., Thomas Jefferson Hospital
  •  LDS Hospital
  •  Baylor Medical College/Ben Taub General Hospital
    Kalpalatha Guntupalli, M.D. – Principal Investigator
    Venkata Bandi, M.D.
    • Alan H. Morris, M.D. – Principal Investigator
    • James Orme, Jr., M.D.
    • Terry Clemmer, M.D.
    • Lindell Weaver, M.D.
    • Charles B. Lawton, M.D., McKay-Dee Hospital
  • University of California, San Francisco
    Michael A. Matthay, M.D., Moffitt Hospital – Principal Investigator
    John M. Luce, M.D., San Francisco General Hospital
    Mark Eisner, M.D.
  • Baystate Medical Center
    Ray S. Steingrub, M.D. – Principal Investigator
    Mark A. Tidswell, M.D
  • Louisiana State Univeristy Health Sciences Center
    Bennett deBoisblanc, M.D. – Principal Investigator
    Francesco Simeone, M.D., Tulane University Medical Center
  • St. Paul’s Hospital, Vancouver, BC
    James A. Russell, M.D. – Principal Investigator
    Dean Chittock, M.D., Vancouver General Hospital
  • University of Chicago Medical Center
    Gregory Schmidt, M.D. – Principal Investigator
    Jesse Hall, M.D.
    Jane Dematte D’Amico, M.D., Northwestern Medical Center
  • University of Texas Health Sciences Center
    Antonio Anzueto, M.D. – Principal Investigator
  • University of Virginia Health Systems
    Jonathon Truwit, M.D. – Principal Investigator
  • University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
    Peter Linden, M.D. – Principal Investigator
    Michael Donahoe, M.D.
  • Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center
    R. Duncan Hite, M.D. – Principal Investigator
  •        Peter E. Morris, M.D.
    Patrick Wright, M.D., LeBauer Health Care, Moses Cone Hospital



Subscribe To Our Newsletter!

Sign up and be the first to find out the latest news and articles about what's going on in the medical field.

You may also like

November 21, 2023

Vera Sharav is joining Christine Anderson as special guest for the Make It Your Business event in

Read More
Vera Sharav Joins Christine Anderson for Make It Your Business – Dec 4, 2023 in New Jersey

November 21, 2023

Vera Sharav is premiering the movie Never Again is Now Global in New York City, December 1.

Read More
Never Again is Now Global – Premiere Screening – Dec 1, 2023 in New York City